Michelle Graf and Holly Crosthwaite: “packed down, formed and baked”

Michelle Graf's “packed down," and Holly Crosthwaite's "formed and baked”

Michelle Graf’s “packed down,” and Holly Crosthwaite’s “formed and baked” (photographs by the Enquirer)

Michelle and Holly are sisters. Below are their stories.

Michelle:

“I was on the waiting list, so I don’t have a special meaning behind the actual phrase. However, my sister was also on the waiting list. She ended up getting into the project a few weeks after I got my phrase and, by sheer chance, her phrase comes directly after mine.

I had already been throwing around ideas for the placement and had decided I wanted it on the back of my calf. So when she got picked and we found out our phrases went together, we both got them on the back of our calves, so if we are standing side by side, you can read them in order. We also went together to get our tattoos. It was definitely a cool bonding moment. We are both really excited to be a part of this project!”

Holly:

“I was a back-up to get a tattoo since I found out late about the project from my sister. She was already in when I signed up, hoping I could get in. Well, a few weeks later I got a call saying someone couldn’t do it and asking if I was interested in the words ‘formed and baked.’ I, of course, said yes and told Rachel Rothstein that my sister was also in the project, so she looked her up and found out her words were the ones exactly before mine! I was so excited! Not only did I get in, but also my sister and I were in the same verse together.

After reading the poem several times, I feel that the section I’m a part of is perfect. I am going through a rough time in life right now and I feel like Cincinnati has packed down, formed and baked me into someone who is able. The city has always been a part of my life. It has formed me into the person I am today.

I was so happy to go get my tattoo with my sister in similar spots, which made it even more special. I am now connected forever to the people who wrote the love letters, the people who received the tattoos, the great tattoo artist who did my tattoo, my sister, and this city.”

Leave a comment